The Kiloblog

2009-06-04

0439 Hours – IE8: no spills no thrills

Filed under: kilowimp,review,software — raka @ 21:10

I had launched Internet Explorer 7 determined to find some higher purpose than downloading Firefox. If found it in 30 seconds – and downloaded Google Chrome. My reason is expunged from memory. Later, for fairness’ sake, I used IE8 for hundreds of hours.

And it wasn’t bad at all.

The interface is fine. Most features I use come via well known keyboard and mouse magic. RSS easy easy. Tabs are coloured pastel by some almost scruitable temporal principle. This should make them easy to find. It does make them pretty. Best of all, zooming just expands the whole page about the mouse cursor. No more getting lost in text reflow.

Firefoxers and Operagoers be warned: I couldn’t rescue a closed tab. Worse yet, IE8 is Microsoftishly slow. I feel it when I scale and I feel it when I scroll; even my beautiful beast box fights to keep up.

IE8 is good, but I won’t keep it. Lacking Chrome’s grace, it gives me no thrill.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

